skip to main content
Read to Achieve
Posted On:
Friday, February 14, 2014
News Image

The North Carolina Read to Achieve Program, adopted July 2012, was created by the State to ensure that every student read at or above grade level by the end of third grade. There are seven components of Read to Achieve. They include developmental screening in the Kindergarten Entry Assessment (KEA), elimination of social promotion, successful reading development for retained students, parent/guardian notification, accountability measures, comprehensive reading plans, and facilitating early grade reading proficiency. The program began with the 2013-2014 school year.
You can find the North Carolina Read to Achieve Implementation Guide online at
View all Spotlights